Capturing the moment…..

Peanut Butter, Carrot & Wheat Germ Biscuits

Yields approx : 32 cookies (depends on the size of your cookie cutter and how thick you roll the dough)

  • 1 cup unbleached flour
  • 1 cup unflavored wheat germ
  • 2 tablespoon flaxseed
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • ½ cup unsalted natural peanut butter
  • ¼ cup grated carrot
  • ½ cup filtered water

I am by no means the best baker in the world so making dog biscuits is very much up my alley because I don’t have to worry too much about them looking “just so.”  If my dogs are anything like your dogs they REALLY don’t care how they look just that they are getting something awesome.  I took the basics from a biscuit cook book and then tweaked the recipe to fit what I had on hand. The couple of things I will stress is that you need to make sure that the products that you use are salt free, no preservatives, not harmful for your dog and minimally processed because believe it or not are far more sensitive to unhealthy things then we are.

Preheat your oven to 325 degrees.

Mix your dry ingredients in a mixing bowl (I have a KitchenAid stand mixer with the paddle attachment)

 

 

 

 

 

Shred your carrots, I used a fine grater because I find that the smaller pieces keeps the dough together better. I used an all natural unsalted peanut butter that you can buy at the grocery store. I then put the carrots, peanut butter and the water in a measuring cup and mixed it together. Mixing them prior to adding to the dry ingredients helps with splashing. I tend to be VERY messy when I cook so helping keep the food off me is always great! 🙂


 

Lightly flour a flat surface. I just put the dough on my counter and rolled it out. Roll the dough out thin, I think the recipe calls for half an inch but I just eye ball that it is relatively even. I then use a metal cookie cutter to my desired shape. I keep rerolling the dough till there isn’t enough to use the cookie cutter or till the dough gets to tough.

 

I lined two cookie sheets with parchment paper line my cookies up and bake them for 15 minutes. Once the time goes off I then turn off the oven and leave them in the hot oven for another 30 mins so that they dry.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When the final timer beeps take them out of the oven and make sure they aren’t too soft. These will never be like the store cookies that are very dry, which makes these more perishable. I keep mine in an OXO container but any air tight container will work.

Hope your doggies enjoy them!!

Leave a Reply

