Capturing the moment…..

Sunday crayon art

So I saw this floating around Pinterest and I just HAD to try it. So Friday after work I zipped over to Michael’s (love this store!) and I had definitley picked a good day to go because I had a 30% off entire purchase coupon and a 50% off one item coupon and EVERYTHING I needed was on sale! Can we say this was meant to be or what?! I am rather impatient so instead of using a hairdryer to melt the crayons I got a heat gun/embossing gun! It gets up to 680 degress! I laugh at myself cause I feel like a guy who just got some awesome auto tool when I was trying to explain how awesome this will work to my husband who just chuckled at me… /sigh

I used an 11×16 canvas, two boxes of 64 count crayola crayons, hot glue gun, mini glue sticks, three kitchen trash bags, a folding chair and the heat gun. The longest part of the process was picking the colors I wanted to use and then gluing the crayons on the canvas. My glue gun skills need some work but in the end they are on the canvas. I think I spent in total from start to finish about an hour. I read one post it took them over an hour to just melt the crayons… As I said I am not a patient woman so the heat gun in my opinion is totally worth getting.

Leave a Reply

