Capturing the moment…..

July 4th Fun

Hello all!

I hope everyone had a safe and happy fourth! We decided at the last moment to go to Homer, Alaska with my good friend Melissa and her husband Chris. So the husband, two dogs and myself rose at what felt like the ass crack of dawn. Even though at 4am the sun is still up at this time of year up here. Hit breakfast at 5am at the ever faithful Denny’s. After pancakes, eggs, sausage, and bad coffee, we were ready to hit the road! 6 am was beautiful, no really, it was it is amazing what bad coffee does to brighten your spirits of the day. No traffic and cloudy but no rain, which has been rather prevalent this summer. We got to Homer around 10:30 am and before you can say “Uncle” we hit the beach! The beaches in Anchorage are rocks and sand flats that you can sink in and have a very bad day to say the least. So to see a beautiful grey beach, with the carcasses of clams all over the place we were pretty excited 😉

Beach in Homer a good portion of one coast

One of the many victims on the beach

One of the many streams on the beach

My two boys have such a great time every time they get to visit. This year they found even more mud and things to put in their mouths. I always laugh when people tell me I should have kids and my response is “I do!” and I then show them photos like this!

Atticus tasted EVERYTHING on the beach at least once and then tried to give me kisses… Ew is all I had to say!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My husband is the greatest of sports and is great about humoring me even if it means he is going to get all sandy!

I had asked Corey to entertain the boys!

Ask and you shall recieve! Corey found a rather large piece of kelp and used it to entice the boys to play. Anyone who knows my dogs, knows that my guys are LAZY! They get tired walking to the end of the street much less jumping around for some kelp lol. Even at 8 and 9 years of age these guys can’t resist the urge to chase something. Watching Atticus just as high as Corey is tall was pretty crazy to watch.

Husky

Old Husky

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

These two beauties stalked my boys for about 10 minutes before they decided to come over and say hi. The younger one crouched low like she was going to pounce on the old men, I think they were flattered cause they sure got excited to see these beautiful girls. My boys are very good with other dogs, but as they have gotten older they have become less tolerant. I think its just because they are old, cranky men ;-), cause if you saw them with these two you would never have known. I felt bad for the older one, I believe her owner said she was 10, she was hurting from running the day before. It is amazing how fun on the beach brings out the best in some critters and people!

Atticus on Homer beach

Atticus was so sad to watch his new friends leave him….

We played on the beach for about 4 hours straight! Boy were we tired, it is crazy how something as simple as sand can be an amazing workout! We found this great restaurant called Fat Olives, I would add a link to the place however I didn’t find a webpage for them. Just know that the pizza is amazing, the service was good and definitely a great suggestion by my friend Tina!  At about 5pm the tide was completely in and it started to rain, we made one last trek to the spit to look at the ocean and wouldn’t you know it, the Sea Otters came out and of course they were in a spot where you couldn’t pull over…. typical wild life, lol. Homer is known to have an over abundance of eagles but we only saw one. I talked to a local and they said it was because the salmon aren’t running yet. We are having a late season due to all the snow we had this past winter, it is apparently delaying all of the runs so fishing has been bad for the enthusiast and the commercial fishers.

We took a deep breath of the fresh sea air and started our four hour drive home, unfortunately for us four we all had to work on Thursday.  My the next morning we were all stiff, sore, and tired but it was totally worth it!

Thanks Melissa for dragging us all out of bed at 4 am for this great adventure day!

Leave a Reply

