Capturing the moment…..

Peanut Butter Spice Cookies

Well I had an abundance of free time on my hands today and I hadn’t made cookies for Atticus in a while so I figured now would be a great time. I went flipping through my recipe book and came across this recipe but I always tweak them (don’t we all) 😉

This recipe was originally intended for dogs who are sensitive to wheat or gluten. So instead of unbleached wheat flour like I used I would recommend brown rice flour or almond flour if the dog is very sensitive.

  • Preheat oven to 325 degrees
  • 2 C wheat flour unbleached
  • 1/2 C rolled oats – I used Quaker Oats but any rolled oat will work
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. ginger
  • 1/2 C natural unsalted peanut butter
  • 2 tbsp flax seed
  • 1/4 C filter water – this wasn’t enough water but I just kept adding till the dough formed

 

 

 

This is what my dry mix looked like after blended

 

 

 

Peanut butter and water mixture.

I used a stand mixer to combine the wet and dry ingredients until the dough has formed. Lightly flour a dry surface and roll the dough into a two inch log. If you are using rice or almond flour expect the dough to be more on the crumbly side, it doesn’t hold up quite and well as wheat gluten does. Once formed into the log wrap in plastic wrap and put in the fridge for 1 hour.

 

 

My attempt at rolling a log. I am MUCH better with Play-Doh! This was a bit more of a challenge since it wasn’t as forgiving! But it got rolled, wrapped and tossed in the fridge! Now it was time to relax for a bit oy!

After my relished hour was done I pulled the log out and sliced it into 1/8 inch slices. Honestly I don’t really think they were that thin but keep them on the thin side when slicing for even cooking and you should be fine. They don’t expand like people cookies so having more on a packed cookie sheet is ok.

I put the cookies in the oven for 12-15 mins. I put mine in for 15 because the dryer you can get the cookie the longer it will last. Homemade dog cookies do not last as long as commercial cookies because our ovens can’t dry them out as completely. But as long as they are kept in an air tight container they should last for about a week or two.

After they are done cooking turn off the oven but leave them in the oven for another 25-30 mins to continue to crisp up. Again I leave mine in for 30 mins.

 

And here they are! My Peanut Butter Spice dog cookies! Atticus loves them and is currently drooling on my lap for more.

 

Hope your kids enjoy them!!

 

Leave a Reply

